Auto Accidents

Workers Compensation

Social Security

Call Now For A Free Consultation

(941) 625-4878
Attorney Referrals
& Co Counselor
Contact All Injuries Law Firm

Will Someone Else's Bodily Injury Liability Insurance Cover Me?

If you were injured in an auto accident in Englewood, Florida, you might be wondering if someone else's insurance coverage will cover the cost of your injuries because you personally don't have liability insurance.

Well, in some cases, yes. If you were injured in an auto accident and your insurance has lapsed, or you lack the right coverage, you may be able to recover monetary damages from someone else's insurance.

When You Are Covered



Bodily Injury Liability coverage is voluntary in Florida and is often purchased to protect motorists from liability if they cause an accident that results in injuries and damages.
So, if you were involved in an accident and the at-fault driver has this kind of insurance coverage, then the coverage will typically pay for medical bills, lost wages, and even pain and suffering in some cases, assuming you also meet Florida's No-Fault requirements.

Bodily injury coverage pays damages to the injured party up to their at-fault driver's policy limit. The minimum amount of coverage in Florida is $10,000 per person in an accident. The total minimum limit is $20,000 per accident.

However, this kind of coverage is often insufficient. It will not cover the entirety of the damages and injuries sustained in an Englewood auto accident, especially if the injuries are more severe. Also, more often than not, a Florida motorist doesn't carry bodily injury coverage, to begin with.

Other Times You May Be Covered



Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage may also cover you if bodily injury coverage is unavailable. These policies are designed to protect the policy owner from personal injury damages resulting from another motorist's reckless or wrongful acts or when the motorist has no bodily injury coverage or insufficient coverage.

Medical Payments Coverage or Med Pay is another insurance policy you can get that is secondary to Personal Injury Protection (PIP). However, this coverage is only for medical expenses and does not compensate for lost wages.

It is also different from bodily injury coverage because it pays out for medical costs regardless of who is at fault for the auto accident.

Filing a Bodily Injury Claim



If you file a bodily injury claim, it is considered a third-party claim. This means that the claim is filed against the at-fault driver's insurance company. You will need to provide adequate documentation and keep detailed records of the auto accident.

Before making your claim, make sure you have a detailed description of the accident, photos of the scene, photo evidence of your injuries, medical records, bills from doctors and health care providers, receipts of all related expenses, and proof of lost wages.

After you make your claim and submit all the evidence you have to back up your claim, you should hear back and be prepared to discuss the accident further. In many cases, a liability claim examiner or insurance adjuster will want more details and clarification about the injuries sustained and the cost of the claim.

The average bodily injury liability claim back in 2019 was around $18,400. While this kind of insurance coverage is not required in Florida, you may still want to purchase this coverage depending on how often you drive. If you are even in an at-fault crash in Englewood, Florida, and you have this coverage, it could ultimately save you money.

Have questions about a recent auto accident you were involved in? Want to know if you should file a claim for compensation? Be sure to consult with an experienced auto accident attorney. They can guide you through the process and help ensure you receive the compensation you rightfully deserve.

Featured Video