Auto Accidents

Workers Compensation

Social Security

Call Now For A Free Consultation

(941) 625-4878
Attorney Referrals
& Co Counselor
Contact All Injuries Law Firm

The Basics Of Car Accident Law In Southwest Florida

According to the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Department, the state of Florida sees around 650 car crashes every single day. Some lucky individuals have never experienced a car accident in the state of Florida, and they may not know what they should do after a car accident occurs, or how they can get the compensation they need to cover the cost. Learning a bit about the basics of Florida car accident law can ensure you’re prepared should the worst ever occur.

What To Do After The Accident



Those first moments to hours after a Florida car accident are the most stressful. You’re stressed, your mind is reeling, and you may be experiencing injuries. Florida law requires all involved parties to stop after an accident, and to help any injured parties that may require medical assistance. If the damages incurred in the accident exceed $500, Florida law requires authorities to be called to the scene to make a formal report.

In instances of minor car accidents, a driver may be tempted to let the accident “go”, by not calling authorities or getting a medical checkup. Even minor accidents can cause soft tissue injuries, and failing to report the accident or see a doctor can make getting compensation difficult or impossible later on.

Make sure to take photos of any damages, injuries, and the road conditions after an accident. If the road is wet or there was a hazard obstructing the roadway, take clear photos to have as evidence in your compensation case. If another vehicle hits your vehicle, make sure to take clear and detailed photos of any damages. If you have suffered any injuries, take photos of the injuries at the time of the accident. All of this evidence will work in your favor when seeking compensation from your insurance provider or a negligent driver in the event of a severe accident exceeding what an insurance company can provide.

Getting To Know The Insurance Requirements



All drivers must be insured in the state of Florida, and they must carry at least $10,000 of personal injury protection as well as $10,000 for property damage liability. Florida is a “no-fault” state, which means your insurance company is responsible for your compensation in the event of an accident, even when that accident is caused by another driver’s negligence. However, if an accident causes damages that exceed what your insurance company can provide, you may pursue a lawsuit against a negligent driver to cover the rest.

Accidents of all shapes and sizes should be reported to your insurance company right away, and failing to report immediately can make your case much more difficult. Waiting to report an accident gives your insurance provider a reason to deny your claim, and you may see no compensation or coverage for your damages at all.

It's important to remember that insurance companies are companies first, and while they may be paid to work “for you”, they’re also working for their bottom line at the same time. For this reason, insurance companies will routinely try to under-provide for accident damages, and this is where your car accident attorney comes in. A skilled and experienced car accident attorney in Southwest Florida can ensure you get a fair and honest settlement from your insurance company, and they can represent you in serious cases where a lawsuit may be pursued.

When you opt for the help of a skilled personal injury attorney, you can relieve the stress of the post-accident process. Your attorney will help you to collect evidence, gather reports, and negotiate compensation that works for you and your recovery.