In order to receive compensation, you have to start by reporting your injury to your employer. How you do that is very important and can have a significant impact on your claim and ultimate settlement. Here are our expert legal tips on how to protect your rights while reporting a work-related injury.
Report The Accident Immediately
In the state of Florida, you have 30 days after the event to report any work-related injury to qualify for workers’ compensation. That may seem like a lot of time, but it can pass quickly, especially if you are recovering from your injuries.
If you wait longer than 30 days, you may still be eligible for some benefits, but it will be a hard fight. So the best plan is to report the injury as soon as it happens so that you remember all of the details and can begin collecting evidence.
Report First To Your Direct Supervisor
The first person you should report your injury to is your direct supervisor. Let them know what happened and request the appropriate form to fill out. They should work with human resources and file a claim. Most companies have a protocol for filing workers’ compensation claims, so follow the procedure exactly and, in most cases, the claim will go through without an issue. However, if you do face a problem, document what happened.
Document The Injury
While you file your report, see to it that you always do it in writing. Many companies have an incident report form you can submit.
However, sometimes employers will say they will handle everything, but they can forget or choose not to properly file in hopes of avoiding the claim. In that case, write out your own report, keep a copy, and submit it to your employer. In either case, remember to indicate the date you filed the report with your employer.
Report The Facts With Important Details
When filing your report, just stick to the facts regarding what happened. Don’t speculate, but include as many relevant details as possible. The answers to these questions are acceptable information to provide:
● Where were you and what time was it?
● What caused the accident?
● What injuries occurred as a result of the accident?
● Were there any witnesses who saw what happened?
Details will help your employer, the insurance company, and, if needed, your worker compensation attorney investigate everything that has taken place.
An unfortunately common tactic insurance companies and employers use to get out of paying a workers’ compensation claim is to drag the process out. So give your employer a few weeks, and if you haven’t heard anything from them, speak with your supervisor and/or human resources personnel.
If they have not filed your claim, refuse to file your claim, or are not being clear about what is happening with your claim, go to the Florida Division of Workers’ Compensation. They will help you file a claim for your injuries against your employer.
With these tips, you can ensure that your claim is filed and begin the process of receiving compensation for your work-related injury. If you have any problems with your employer, don’t worry. The experienced workers’ compensation attorneys at All Injuries Law Firm can help. We will review your claim, make sure your rights are protected, and fight to get you fair compensation. Give us a call at 1-941-625-HURT, and we would be happy to answer any questions about how we can help you.